“The Character of God: ‘I Am Who I Am'”

As believers, we are invited into a deep and intimate relationship with the Almighty, one that encompasses the fullness of His nature. Central to this understanding are the various names and attributes ascribed to God throughout Scripture. God said to Moses, “I am who I am. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I am has sent me to you.’ Exodus 3:14

I Am the Almighty God.

“And when Abram was ninety years old and nine, the Lord appeared to Abram, and said unto him, I am the Almighty God; walk before me, and be thou perfect” (Genesis 17:1).  

He is a Good God

Good and upright is the Lord. Psalm 25:8

The Everlasting God

“And Abraham planted a grove in Beersheba, and called there on the name of the Lord, the everlasting God” (Genesis 21:33).

The Living God

“And Joshua said, Hereby ye shall know that the living God is among you, and that he will without fail drive out from before you the Canaanites, the Hittites, the Hivites, and the Perizzites, and the Girgashites, and the Amorites, and the Jebusites” (Joshua 3:10).

A Faithful God

“Know therefore that the Lord thy God, he is God, the faithful God, which keepeth covenant and mercy with them that love him and keep his commandments to a thousand generations” (Deuteronomy 7:9).

He is Love

And he passed in front of Moses, proclaiming, “The Lord, the Lord, the compassionate and gracious God, slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness, Exodus 34:6

Jehovah Elyon:

The Lord Most High “I will praise the LORD according to his righteousness: and will sing praise to the name of the LORD most high” (Psalm 8:17).

Jehovah Jireh:

The Lord Will Provide “And Abraham said, My son, God will provide Himself a lamb for a burnt offering: so they went both of them together” (Genesis 22:8).

Jehovah-Mekaddishkem:

The Lord Our Sanctifier “And ye shall keep my statutes, and do them: I am the Lord your God” (Leviticus 20:8).

Jehovah Nissi:

The Lord My Banner “And Moses built an altar, and called the name of it Jehovah-nissi” (Exodus 17:15)

Jehovah Sabaoth:

The Lord of Hosts “And this man went up out of his city yearly to worship and to sacrifice unto the Lord of hosts in Shiloh” (1 Samuel 1:3).

Jehovah-Shalom:

The Lord of Our Peace “And Gideon built an altar there unto the Lord, and called it Jehovahshalom: unto this day it is yet in Ophrah of the Abiezrites” (Judges 6:24).

Jehovah-Shammah:

The Lord is There “It was round about eighteen thousand measures: and the name of the city from that day shall be, The Lord is there” (Ezekiel 48:35).

Jehovah-Tsidkenu:

The Lord Our Righteousness “In his days Judah shall be saved, and Israel shall dwell safely: and this is His name whereby He shall be called, THE LORD OUR RIGHTEOUSNESS” (Jeremiah 23:6).

Jehovah-Rohi:

The Lord My Shepherd “The Lord is my Shepherd: I shall not want. He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: He leadeth me beside the still waters. He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.  Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me: thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever” (Psalms 23:1-6).

Jehovah Rapha: The Lord Who Heals You “And if thou wilt diligently hearken to the voice of the Lord thy God, and will do that which is right in his sight, and wilt give ear to his commandments, and keep all his statutes, I will put none of these diseases upon thee, which I have brought upon the Egyptians: for I am the Lord that healeth thee” (Exodus 15:26).

Studying the names of God is a journey of faith and discovery. As we meditate on these truths, our hearts are opened to the greatness of God’s love and the limitless of His grace. We come to realize that whatever we need, God is. He is our healer, our sanctifier, our holy and righteous God. Before the beginning of time, He was, and He still is, beckoning us into a relationship marked by intimacy and trust.

May we embrace the fullness of who God is, allowing His names and attributes to shape our understanding of Him and deepen our relationship with Him. In His presence, we find everything we need, for He is truly all-sufficient, now and for all eternity.


Leave a comment